Legal Resources for Court Interpreters

Print sources available at the Supreme Court Law Library.

Dictionary, Hawaiian

  • Pukui, Mary Kawena and Samuel H. Elbert. English-Hawaiian dictionary. University of Hawaii Press, 1964. 188 p. [RefRm PL6446 P96e]
  • Pukui, Mary Kawena and Samuel H. Elbert. Hawaiian-English dictionary, 3d ed. University of Hawaii Press, 1965. 370 p. [RefRm PL6446 P96h 1965]
  • Pukui, Mary Kawena, et al. New pocket Hawaiian dictionary, with a concise grammar and given names in Hawaiian. University of Hawaii Press, 1992. 256 p. [RefRm PL6446 P96k 1992]

Dictionary, Legal

  • Ballentine, James Arthur. Ballentine’s law dictionary with pronunciations, 3d ed. Lawyers Cooperative Pub. Co., 1969. 1429 p. [REF KF156 B21 1969]
  • Beyer, Gerry W. , et al. Modern dictionary for the legal profession, 4th ed. William S. Hein & Co., 2008. 977 p. [REF KF156 B46 2001]
  • Burton, William C. Burton’s legal thesaurus, 3d ed. Macmillan Library Reference, 1998. 1012 p. [REF KF156 B95 1998]
  • Costello, Elaine. Random House Webster’s American sign language legal dictionary. Random House, 2003. 422 p. [REF K52 C82]
  • Garner, Bryan A. Black’s law dictionary, 10th ed. West Group, 2014. 2016 p. [DESK KF156 B56 2009]
  • Garner, Bryan A. A dictionary of modern legal usage, 2d ed. Oxford University Press, 1995. 951 p. [REF KF156 G18]
  • Lucas, Paul F. Nahoa. Dictionary of Hawaiian legal land terms. Native Hawaiian Legal Corporation, 1995. 177 p. [RefRm KFH126 A68 D56]
  • Sloane, Richard. The Sloane Dorland annotated medical legal dictionary. West Pub. Co., 1987 + 1992 supplement [REF RA1017 S56]
  • Vasan, R. S., editor-in-chief. Latin words & phrases for lawyers. Law and Business Pub. (Canada), 1980. 335 p. [REF KF156 L34]
  • Words and phrases. Permanent edition, 1658 to date: all judicial constructions and definitions of words and phrases by the state and federal courts from the earliest times, alphabetically arranged and indexed. West Pub. Co., 1940+ approx. 100 v. [KF156 W67]

Internet Web Sites

Legal Glossary

  • English/Arabic legal glossary. Superior Court of California, 2005. 100p. [RefRm K52 A72]
  • English/Armenian legal glossary. Superior Court of California, 2005. 77 p. [RefRm K52 A75]
  • English-French legal glossary. 23 p. [RefRm K52 F73]
  • English/Hmong legal glossary. Superior Court of California, 2005 173 p. [RefRm K52 H56]
  • English/Mien legal glossary. Superior Court of California. 2005, 103 p. [RefRm K52 M53]
  • English/Mong (Moob) legal glossary. Superior Court of California. 2005, 162 p. [RefRm K52 M66]
  • English/Punjabi legal glossary. Superior Court of California. 2005, 112 p. [RefRm K52 P86]
  • English/Romanian legal glossary. Superior Court of California, 2007. 154 p. [RefRm K52 R65]
  • English/Russian legal glossary. Superior Court of California, 2005. 93 p. [RefRm K52 R87]
  • English/Spanish legal glossary. Superior Court of California, 2006. 207 p. [RefRm K52 S62]
  • English/Vietnamese legal glossary. Superior Court of California, 2005. 119 p. [RefRm K52 V53]
  • Glossary of commonly used court and justice system terminology (English-Chinese): consortium for state court interpreter certification, 2003. 44 p. [RefRm K52 C56]
  • Haspil, Joelle. Federal Court maritime vocabulary: English/Haitian Creole/Spanish. Florida Judiciary, n.d. 5 p. [RefRm K54 H27]
  • I speak – language identification guide, 2d ed. US Department of Justice, 2006. 14 p. [RefRm K54 A68]
  • Legal glossary. Superior Court of California, 2005. 64 p. [RefRm K52 E56]
  • Marshallese-English legal glossary. 62 p. [RefRm K52 M47]
  • National Center for State Courts. English legal glossary, Rev. February 8, 2001. 49 p. [REF KF156 E35]
  • Translating justice: a Spanish glossary for New York City. Vera Institute of Justice, 2007. 46 p. [RefRm K52 S63]
  • Translating justice: a traditional Chinese glossary for New York City. Vera Institute of Justice, 2007. 46 p. [RefRm K52 C55]
  • Translations of commonly used court related phrases. American Bar Association, 1998. 120 p. [REF K54 T68]
  • Webster, Gloriela R. Glossary of legal terms: English/Spanish. Multnomah County Courts, April 1995. 19 p. [RefRm K54 W39]
  • Washington. Office of the Administrator for the Courts. Glossary of selected legal terms for Cantonese, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, and Vietnamese. 1994. 1 v. [RefRm K54 W27]

Related Materials

  • Berk Seligson, Susan. The bilingual courtroom: court interpreters in the judicial process with a new chapter. University of Chicago Press, 2002. 323 p. [KF8804 B45]
  • Fundamentals of court interpretation. Carolina Academic Press, 1991. 649 p. [Ref K2155 G66]
  • Hawaii. The Judiciary. Office on Equality and Access to the Courts. The interpreter connection. The Office, 2003. [RefRm PERIODICAL]
  • Hewitt, William E. Court interpretation: model guides for policy and practice in the state courts. National Center for State Courts, 2002. 250 p.
  • Immigrant’s in court. University of Washington Press, 1999. 263 p. [RefRm K2155 M66]
  • Judicial Council of California. Administrative Office of the Courts. Professional standards and ethics for California court interpreters, 5th ed. May 2013.
  • Manual for the simultaneous interpreting practice tape. New Jersey Administrative Office of the Courts, 1996. 24 p. [RefRm K2155 N48]