Elder Law

Hawaii Resources

  • Bivens, Stephanie Ann. Advanced issues in Hawaii elder law. National Business Institute, 2005.
    [RefRm KFH81 A4 B54]
  • Conrad, John R. Hawaii elder law: the basics and beyond. National Business Institute, 1991.
    [KFH81 A4 H31]
  • Elder law and Medicaid planning update seminar. Hawaii State Bar Association. Continuing Legal Education, 2001.
    [KFH81 A4 H34] Available at 2d.
  • Pietsch, James H. The Akamai kupuna: a legal handbook for Hawaii’s older adults, 7th ed. Hawaii Judiciary, 1994.
    [RefRm KFH81 A4 P61]
  • Pietsch, James H. and Lenora H. Lee. Deciding “what if?”: a legal handbook for Hawai‘i’s caregivers, families and older persons. University of Hawai‘i Elder Law Program, February 2006.
    [RefRm KFH81 A4 P63 2006]
  • Pietsch, James H. and Lenora H. Lee. The elder law Hawai‘i handbook: protecting your health, wealth and personal wishes. University of Hawaii Press, 1998.
    [RefRm KFH81 A4 P62]

Secondary Sources

  • Encyclopedias
    1. Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
      [Ref KF387 G13]
      Available at SCLL
      Subject Heading: Retirement and Aging
    2. West’s Encyclopedia of American Law, 2nd ed. Thomson/Gale, 2005.
      [KF154 W52]
      Available at SCLL
      Subject Heading: Elder Law
  • Manuals
    1. Jasper, Margaret C. Elder Law, 2nd ed. Oceana Publications, 2001.
      [Ref KF209 L52 J31] Available at SCLL
      Provides information which will give senior citizens a general understanding of their rights under the law.
    2. Jasper, Margaret C. Social security law, 2nd ed. Oceana Publications, 2004.
      [REF KF209 L52 J31 no. 61] Available at SCLL
      Discusses the individual programs administered by the SSA, such as retirement pension benefits, medicare, supplemental security income, survivor benefits, and disability benefits. Provides sample forms and documents.
    3. Social security law and practice. West Group, 1997.
      [KF3646.5 S62 (non/circ)]
      Provides information on Social Security law. Includes sample SSA forms and the full-text of selected provisions of the USCA and CFR.
  • Agencies and Organizations
    1. City and County of Honolulu
      Community Services Department
      Elderly Affairs Division
      715 S. King Street
      Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
    2. County of Kauai
      Agency on Elderly Affairs
      Pi‘ikoi Building
      4444 Rice Street, Suite 330
      Lihue, Kauai, Hawaii 96766
    3. County of Maui
      Department of Housing and Human Concerns
      2200 Main Street
      One Main Plaza Building, Suite 546
      Wailuku, HI 96793